Family Eating Update

Hi everyone and happy Easter weekend! I finished my first year of University yesterday and I’m back at home all unpacked. I am so exhausted today but that didn’t stop me from doing some smoothie making and vegan baking. We’re having Easter dinner on Sunday so I’ve been brainstorming some ideas I can make for the family that doesn’t involve harming any animals. Comment some ideas below if you have some 🙂

2014-04-15 006 2014-04-15 002Anyways, I am writing in here now to give a little update on my families eating habits. I wrote a post last week called Plant Based Diet Challenge where I talked about how I got my parents to watch Forks over Knives, a really good documentary about the plant based diet, and even got them to go vegan for 3 days.

Since that post,  my father has been improving his eating habits and incorporating more plant based foods into his diet. I cant say how proud this makes me and how happy I am to make a change in the world, even if it’s only a small one. Vegan’s save almost 200 animals per year. Just myself not eating meat is already a change enough. But the more people I can get to stop eating meat or even cut back on their meat consumption can help as well. Change has to start somewhere, and even if it’s only one person, it makes me happy knowing I am making a difference.

Not to mention the health benefits. Forks over Knives focuses on how much better a plant based diet it is for the human body, including statistics like ‘vegan’s have a 50% lower chance of developing cancer than people who eat meat’.

2014-04-12 002 2014-04-12 001I came home from school yesterday to discover my dad has been cutting up and freezing bananas (like me) for his smoothies. He’s been having one everyday, and even making salads and cutting back on his meat/dairy/egg consumption. He says it’s easier when I am around because I always keep the fridge stocked with whole foods and I’m available to make meals for him.

2014-04-18 002 2014-04-18 016This morning I made a green smoothie and my parents both asked for some, so I made more. I told them I’d be happy to make them food whenever, as long as there are groceries available for me to make stuff!

2014-04-18 002 2014-04-18 011The toughest person to change however is my brother. He is 17 and does not eat well at all. It makes me quite angry, but I know I can’t control everyone – I just want to help, that’s all. And eating a plant based diet not only helps the consumer, but also the animals AND this planet.

2014-04-06 007 2014-04-06 008But last night and this morning, my brother has made smoothies AND he has put almond milk in it! Okay, he still puts regular milk in it too, but I’m hoping since he’s currently adding both that he will soon be able to omit the cow’s milk and permanently switch to almond milk! Eek, so exciting. My mom also told me she’s been using my almond milk as well! 😀

If you are a vegan or vegetarian who faces similar circumstances, comment below; I’d love to hear about it! Also, I found a ‘vegan save’ calculator which tells you the amount of animals you’ve saved and how much CO2 you’ve prevented from going into the atmosphere. I’ve been a vegetarian for 5 months now, so I’ve saved: 84 animals, 81 pounds of meat, and 670 pounds of CO2 from being released into the atmosphere.  WOW, that puts the biggest smile on my face. Want to calculate your vegan save? Click here.

Have a great long weekend everyone!

2014-04-17 003 2014-04-17 005

 

One thought on “Family Eating Update

Leave a Reply

