Sweet Potato Pancakes

Who loves pancakes? I know I do. Any chance I can get to make pancakes, I do. Especially when they are healthy, vegan, and delicious. Now usually the main ingredients in my pancakes are oat flour, bananas, vanilla extract, cinnamon, almond milk, etc. But who would have thought that you could use a vegetable as a secret weapon ingredient? Like seriously, a vegetable. When parents are trying to feed their young children vegetables, the kids will often push them away and call them gross. But when you slip this healthy super food into your breakfast in the morning, they’ll never even know. PLUS the sweet potato makes them 10x better.

IMG_9614Like I mentioned up above, I usually use oat flour in most of my pancakes. But the thing is, I’ve bought it from Whole Foods in the past for an outrageous price. Of course I didn’t think it was outrageous at the time – but yesterday, I made my very own oat flour for so much cheaper. You can try it too once you see how easy it is.

IMG_9163All I did was simply put oats in my blender (you can use a food processor as well) and blend it up! Stop the blender every few seconds and scrape the un-blended oats into the center, and continue to do this for a few minutes until you have flour! So simple!

IMG_9166Okay, so onto the pancake recipe, which is also really simple. The first thing you should know that I did was I cooked my sweet potato the night before so that I’d have it already mashed and ready to go in the morning. You don’t have to do this because it doesn’t take that long, but it’s an option.

Prior to the time of your pancake making, peel 1 large potato, and cut it into small pieces. Put the cut up pieces into a bowl with a bit of water, and microwave it for 7 minutes. Take it out, and mash it all up.

IMG_9623What you’ll need: a blender, mashed potato, banana, oat flour, water or almond milk, brown sugar, maple syrup, vanilla extract, cinnamon, peanut butter

1. Preheat your stove top or skillet to 300 degrees F.

2. In a blender or magic bullet, put in 1/2 cups of mashed potato, and 1 ripe banana

3. Add in 3/4 cups of water and blend it until you have a creamy puree

4. In a large mixing bowl, pour in 1 and 1/2 cups of oat flour.

5. Add in your sweet potato banana puree gradually and stir it in

6. Add 1/2 cups of water or almond milk and stir

7. Add 2 tbsp. of brown sugar, and 2 tsp. of maple syrup

8. Add in 2 tsp. of vanilla extract, and a dash of cinnamon.

9. Add in 1 tsp. of all natural peanut butter. If the mix is too thick, add more water until it is thinner

10. Cook on your pan or skillet until they are a golden brown colour.

11. Serve them with nut butters, banana ice cream, fruit, and pure maple syrup.

The batch should make 10 regular sized pancakes. Enjoy guys!

IMG_9628

5 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Spinach Pancakes | The Colourful Kitchen

Leave a Reply

