Wondering about the Vegan Diet?

If you are reading this post you are:

a)      An avid reader of my blog
b)      Just happen to stumble across this page
c)       A vegan who’s eye was captured by the title
d)      A non-vegan who is curious about a vegan lifestyle

If you find yourself as a person who falls under any of those categories, you are in the right place! So since I am newly vegan, I have found myself getting asked A LOT of the same questions, especially from friends and family. This post is here to answer ANY of those questions you may have if you or someone you know are making the transition into a vegan lifestyle, or are already a vegan.

1. How do you get your protein?

Ah, my favourite, and by far, the most popular one. If you are a vegan, you KNOW this is the first question someone asks when you say you are a vegan.

b5e3b49e0cfd76bc22c1d3e075701670Okay, first of all, it is just an urban myth that vegans do not get any protein and nutrients. News flash to everyone out there, animal by-products are not the only things in the world that have protein and vitamins…. Here are a list of some food sources for vegans that are very high in protein:

Quinoa, Green Peas, Nuts and Nut butter, Beans, Chickpeas, Tempeh and Tofu, Edamame, Spinach and Kale, Hemp, Chia Seeds, Sesame, sunflower, and poppy seeds, Seitan, Almond Milk, and Raw Cacao Powder.

Wow, that’s a lot of food that is high in protein that doesn’t contain ANY animal by-products – they just came from the ground!

Also, I had a friend ask me how I get calcium because “you can only get calcium from dairy”.  For any of you out there who are wondering this, there are tons of foods that contain calcium: Kale, Broccoli, Tofu, Almonds, Oranges, Figs, Chickpeas, Tahini, Carob etc.

2.Do you ever get full?

I had one of my friends ask me this the other day. YES VEGAN FOOD CAN BE FILLING! Just imagine, you are eating all organic and plant based foods, which are all FULL of vitamins and nutrients. They are all super healthy for you, and there is so much variety and flavour. So what do you do? You indulge.

vegans_o_280209When I eat dinner, I load up my plate, and eat till I am stuffed. Just because I do not eat meat, fish, dairy or eggs, doesn’t mean I don’t eat anything at all.  Here’s a link to my post “Vegan Dinners”. It gives you a good idea of what I usually or can eat for dinners. I eat as much as I want, because I know I am nourishing my body, and giving it the good stuff it needs. The only time I’d be concerned about stuffing myself at dinner would be if I was having meat, dairy or eggs. Those things did not help my body in ways that I wanted, and would often leave me feeling full and bloated. I felt gross afterwards, but when I eat spinach salads, Quinoa, Broccoli, Asparagus, Carrots, Rice, Sweet Potatoes, etc, I feel awesome and energized!

3. Is it hard being vegan?

No, not at all! 5 months ago, I was eating a regular, full meat and dairy diet. I too was tricked by society into thinking all these things about vegans. I thought it would be impossible for me to take on this lifestyle because a) No Reese’s Pieces. And b) I thought it was unhealthy and I’d die.

2014-01-28 003 2014-01-28 001I now know that I was terribly mistaken and very uneducated on the subject. It is not hard AT ALL! In fact, now that I eat a vegan plant based diet, I have found my creative side. Waking up in the morning and having a bowl of cheerio’s is boring. Having steak and mashed potatoes is boring. I now get to experiment in the kitchen and try SO many different super foods and recipes. For breakfast I have a big bowl of oatmeal loaded with nut butters, nuts and fruits. For dinner I have got the experience to try a variety of different super foods I didn’t even know existed, but are so good for me! Through veganism, I was able to open up my perspective of food and nutrition, and give my body the chance to have more than I ever did before.

4. Do you eat fish?

Are fish animals?….. Then no.

5. Do you ever miss meat?

No. Once you get on the vegan track, there’s no goin back. (Meaning, yes I can eat meat if I want to, but I don’t feel the need!)

2014-02-21 004 2014-02-21 0056. How do you have treats and sweets?

Well, let me tell you a little bit about vegan desserts. They are usually super healthy, and have natural sugars, not artificial sweeteners or additives. If you look on my blog, you will find multiple different treats and sweets that I can have and enjoy very much. A few favourites would be banana ice-cream, pitted dates with all natural peanut butter (so sweet and delicious) and I’ve also been experimenting with vegan baking and raw desserts! (Quite fantastic!)

IMG_81747. What do you do when you go to restaurants?

There are a few different things I can order. A salad, a vegetable wrap, certain breads or pastas, soup, rice, potatoes, etc. Also, there are plenty of vegetarian and vegan restaurants around with tons of options!

2014-02-21 004 2014-02-21 0048. If you care about animals so much, why are you eating their food?

Stop.

2014-02-21 004 2014-02-21 003 People often get so caught up with the stereotype of how veganism isn’t good for you that they have no idea that vegan diets are actually healthier than regular ones. Look into it, do your research and you’ll find it’s not that bad or that hard. I’m not saying any other diet is bad, and that you shouldn’t eat certain foods. You can eat whatever your heart desires- just know that there are so many options out there for us.

After writing this, i created a short survey to ask a few people on my floor about their knowledge on veganism.

meredith

adam Brooke carlee Kenny

3 thoughts on “Wondering about the Vegan Diet?

  1. Pingback: Answering your Questions | The Colourful Kitchen

Leave a Reply

