Green, Lean, and full of Protein Smoothie

Good morning everyone, and happy March 1st. Okay, so I’ve never made a green smoothie before. I have to admit, I was always scared of the colour. Let me just tell you now that if this is the reason holding you back from trying a green smoothie – IGNORE THE COLOUR!

IMG_8594Even when I was blending this smoothie and saw how green it was, I was a little iffy about how it would taste considering I’ve never made one before. So once I opened up the blender, I closed my eyes and stuck my spoon in (so I wouldn’t see the colour) and it tasted delicious! If your brain associates green with a gross yucky flavour, don’t look at it at first. But then eventually as you’re drinking it, you’ll realize it’s not bad at all, and that the colour is kind of pretty… like nature.

IMG_8590So as I said before, this was my first time making a green smoothie, and I don’t know HOW I managed to pull it off so well, but I did. I tried not to throw in a bunch of random ingredients to make it green – instead, I thought about the colour and the flavour together, and came up with an idea that will leave your taste buds craving more green drink.

IMG_8608So you’ll need quite a few ingredients for this one:  3 ripe bananas, kale, spinach, pineapple, strawberries, almond milk, almond butter, peanut butter, cacao powder, and cinnamon.  Remember to freeze your bananas 4-5 hours prior to making your smoothie.

1. Put your 3 cut up bananas in the blender

2. Add 2 handfuls of kale

3. Add 1 handful of spinach

4. Add 1 and ½ cups of pineapple

5. Add in 5 strawberries

6. Pour in ½ cups of almond milk

7. Add 1 tsp. of almond butter

8. Add 1 and ½ tsp. of peanut butter

9. Add 1 tsp. of cacao powder

10. Finally, blend it all together, possibly having to stop the blender to stir it with a spoon once or twice, until it is a smooth and creamy texture.
IMG_8576Hopefully you guys enjoy this one! And remember, don’t fear the green, it’s good for you.

IMG_8586

2 thoughts on “Green, Lean, and full of Protein Smoothie

Leave a Reply

