Counting Calories

Today I had three people ask me about counting calories. My answer is, and will always be, NO, I do not agree with counting calories.

12-ways-to-boost-metabolism-04-slTrust me, I know where you’ve been. I used to have the “My Fitness Pal” app on my iphone where I would input everything I ate in the day, and it would tell me how much I had left, and at the end of the day it would say “if you keep eating like this for 5 more weeks, you’d weigh ‘so in so’ lbs”

Okay, do you know how much complete BS that is? The app isn’t a nutrition app. It doesn’t track your health factor, it simply records what you’ve ate that day, regardless of what is is.

For instance, I could have oatmeal for breakfast, a sandwhich for lunch, maybe a Special K granola bar (ou, probably low in calories so I’ll have it) Hmmm, even those Thinsations are good too! They have 20 little OREO COOKIES for 100 calories! Wow, they must be amazingly healthy for me. Oh and also this LIGHT peanut butter is 90 calories, where as normal peanut butter is 100, yep I’ll choose this one. Okay, and I have 200 calories remaining after my dinner, so I’m going to treat myself to some chocolate cake.

Do you understand? It doesn’t MATTER if you count calories if all you are eating is junk. I don’t count calories because they don’t matter. I know that everything I eat is healthy, so I’m not concerned about how many calories it has. I promise you that you will NEVER get fat off of fruit, vegetables, beans, lentils, legumes, nuts, grains, etc. If you are eating all the right foods, you should not be concerned.

Another example I always give is this: An avocado is fairly high in calories, but is SUPER good for you and your body. Coke Zero may have 0 calories, but is awful for you. Now which one would you rather have?

Personally, I’d rather have something that’s good for me than bad for me, regardless of how many calories it has. Like I said before, you will never get fat off of healthy foods, so why bother worrying about how many calories an apple or orange has if it will never have a negative effect on you.

I hope this helps all those people who are wondering this and spend their time worrying and stressing about calories. Don’t let them consume your life. Nourish your body with whole, healthy foods and you will be just fine.

3 thoughts on “Counting Calories

  1. Pingback: Answering your Questions | The Colourful Kitchen

  2. One good thing about My Fitness Pal, though, is you can also track protein, vitamins and minerals. I like it for that. I do have a problem with over-eating, but I always know when I’m doing it. The app would be more helpful if it zapped me if I tried to take one bite after becoming full.

Leave a Reply

